Image

Frenzy.

19 Mar

image

Visible in the background of this photo is the twin BSFL compost bins. As soon as I touch a collection canister the chooks are in a frenzy.

4 Responses to “Frenzy.”

  1. Diakité Ismaël January 28, 2014 at 8:46 am #

    Hello,
    Intersted in BSF for chickens. 2 questions: can you feed them exclusively with BSF (if not, wich maximum rate of their diet can be BSF)? Do you clean the BSF (like to rince them) before the chicken can eat it? It would be nice to answer me cause I don’t find detail about that specific points on internet. Thanks. My mail: anzoumen@hotmail.fr

    • romanstefan January 28, 2014 at 9:18 am #

      Thanks for the questions. Firstly I do rinse the larvae, the canister into which they crawl off is screen bottomed, makes this easy. Depending on how full and moist the composter is, i feel rinsing really is necessary as a fair bit of muck is carried with the larvae as they crawl off. However I have not undertaken scientific evaluation to prove this rinsing is necessary.

    • romanstefan January 28, 2014 at 9:42 am #

      Regarding diet I again have no scientific evaluation regarding feeding with BSFL, other than that they are allegedly high in calcium and protein. At times I have feed my chooks a diet of only commercial laying pellets. I always have the pellets available for them to eat. I use the BSFL, leftovers and free ranging to reduce how much pellet the flock eat. If I had sufficient BSFL I would consider not providing pellets, but only if the chooks had access to lawn etc as in free ranging. However I have no scientific evidence to support this opinion.

      • anzoumen January 28, 2014 at 5:05 pm #

        Thanks, Roman for your answer,
        Good idea to give free acces to the 2 diets. One can assume chickens are wiser than humans and won’t abuse of what is wrong for them in big quantity. They will probably make the good choice and the cost of food will be reduced anyway.
        I am trying to gather the more info I can to experiment bsf on a project I have in Mali (west Africa). It would be (in addition to agriculture that we already started with my family) a thousand chickens raised indoor.
        I will pay attention to your blog.
        Thanks for everything.

        Ismaël Diakité

Leave a Reply

